UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award 2022

The UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award 2022 is now accepting nominations.

UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award

The United Nations organization for sustainable urbanization, UN-Habitat, is accepting submissions for its annual Scroll of Honour award.

The UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award was established in 1989 and is considered one of the most distinguished awards in the field of human settlements. Its goal is to recognize initiatives that have made significant contributions in the areas of human settlements, housing, highlighting the plight of people living in poverty or who have been displaced, developing and improving human settlements, and the quality of urban life to ensure that no one is left behind, echoing the Sustainable Development Goals 2030, with a focus on Goal 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities.


On Monday, October 3, 2022, up to five winners will be chosen and awarded during the Global Observance of World Habitat Day.

UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award | Eligibility Criteria

Nominations for the UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour are open to individuals and organizations working on sustainable urban initiatives that have had a significant influence on society.

These are some of them:

  • Bilateral assistance agencies, as well as government and intergovernmental organizations or agencies
  • Local and regional governments, or alliances of local and regional governments
  • Organizations of civil society
  • There is a private sector.
  • Architects’ offices and design firms
  • Individual designers or architects
  • Construction companies or real estate developers
  • National Habitat Committees, often known as focus points, are groups of people that work to protect the environment.
  • Institutions of higher learning and research
  • Foundations, whether public or private
  • Multilateral organizations (United Nations Agencies, World Bank, etc.)
  • The press
  • Individuals

Selection Criteria for the UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award

The Selection Committee will consider best practices, initiatives, and creative solutions relating to Sustainable Development Goal 11 and the difficulties presented by the COVID-19 epidemic in determining the award winners.

Furthermore, projects and practices that assist cities and local governments in reducing disparities and contributing to the accomplishment of sustainable objectives, as well as the World Habitat Day theme Mind the Gap and Leave No One and No Place Behind, will be highlighted.


Deadline: The deadline for applications is July 31, 2022. The UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour candidates will be informed of the conclusion of the selection beginning on August 16, 2022.

Third-party nominations must be submitted in English on the online submission form. The nomination guidelines may be found here.

Visit the UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award for more information.

Recommended for You

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *